It’s not just about food. It’s about Thanksgiving (and Christmas).

Thanksgiving. My favorite all-American tradition.

Snoopy

My clients were US Equity asset managers. Every year, we would receive some of them and their spouses for a proper French-American Thanksgiving extravaganza at home. Foie gras, turkey and stuffing, mashed potatoes. Cheese and dessert. Lots of wine.

Between the shopping, the cooking, the carving and the service, it was a full day’s work. As much as I loved my clients and preparing dinner for them, I would have enjoyed to have it all taken care of by a private chef. Actually, it may have been the very reason why I funded La Belle Assiette.

And when I think about it, the same goes for Christmas: in the next few weeks, I’m going to stress about Christmas shopping. Not my favorite. Traffic jams, angry crowds, endless queueing. Consumerism in full display.

As I grow older, I may care more about experiencing than about having. In the act of gifting, I would rather offer a private chef experience to those I love than a little blue, red, or orange box.

https://labelleassiette.fr/gift

https://labelleassiette.co.uk/gift

L.T. Sachs is a jolly member of La Belle Assiette board.

Leave a Reply

